Chris Young And Kane Brown Famous Friends #1 on ACC with Kix Brooks

American Country Countdown with Kix Brooks is on CISN Country 103.9 Edmonton and Country 105 Calgary Saturday’s 8 am to Noon.

After a six-week run in the #1 spot, Luke Combs Forever After All slides to #2.

The new #1 on the Billboard Country Airplay chart followed by ACC is Famous Friends from Chris Young and Kane Brown.

“Kane and I have gotten to know each other over the years, from him being on tours with me, from us writing together, from me guesting on his album in the past. All of this stuff came together. Famous Friends is fun, it’s super uptempo and I got to sing with my buddy Kane. All of this worked out as perfect as it possibly could on one song.”

Chris Young and Kane Brown

Chris Young and Kane Brown


Famous Friends is Chris Young’s 10th and Kane Brown’s 6th #1 on the Country Airplay chart.

“It really never gets old hearing you have the #1 song in the country. I’m so thankful for Kane, Corey Crowder and Cary Barlowe, the RCA staff and all of country radio for this one.”

“It means the world to me to have the number one song in the country with my good buddy Chris Young. Started covering his songs and we’ve done a couple songs together, we’ve written a lot of songs and just to have one as a number-one song Country radio, it means the world to me.”

Famous Friends was #1 for two weeks, June 2021, on the Canada Billboard Country Airplay chart.

“Always excited to celebrate a hit on Country radio but especially this song right here, Famous Friends, going number one with my buddy Kane Brown. Just an amazing way to go right into the summer. Finally, getting to perform this back out on the road for people and being able to, you know, announce that it’s the number one song is just one of the most amazing things. So, so proud of this one. So thank you to everybody for listening, loving it.”

Chris Young and Kane Brown

Chris Young and Kane Brown


Chris Young co-wrote Famous Friends with Corey Crowder and Cary Barlowe. It’s the title track from Young’s album, due August 6.

“We’ve been teasing everybody with a new album for years. I’m really, really excited to have this album out there for everybody and to be able to announce it. It’s been so long that I’ve been talking about all the stuff that I did in the past year-and-a-half, and I think people at one point thought I was just messing with them a little bit. They were like, Do you actually have an album coming out? But it’s so exciting to have this information out there.”

“I’m honored to give new music to people, and I hope people love it half as much as I loved the process of creating it. For me, this album feels like I’m putting my arms around a whole lot of my friends and letting them all get to be a part of it. So it’s one of the reasons why I’m so pumped about it.”

Chris Young co-wrote 13 of the 14 songs on the album, recorded over a three-year period and follows Young’s 2017 LP Losing Sleep.

“When you look at the history of my career, it’s been new album, new album, new album every couple of years. With this one, I had a lot more time if I needed to work through stuff, and I got to play around in the studio a little bit. But it’s been so awesome seeing everybody be excited about this new music.”

See the tracklist for Famous Friends.

1. Raised on Country
2. Famous Friends (with Kane Brown)
3. Town Ain’t Big Enough (with Lauren Alaina)
4. Drowning
5. Rescue Me
6. Break Like You Do
7. At the End of a Bar (with Mitchell Tenpenny)
8. Love Looks Good on You
9. One of Them Nights
10. When You’re Drinking
11. Cross Every Line
12. Hold My Beer Watch This
13. Best Seat in the House
14. Tonight We’re Dancing

“This song is a piece of me, and it means a lot because it’s honest and it’s real-life. Plus, Kane and I are good friends and being able to have that history together, it adds a whole other level to the track.”

“I can’t imagine a more perfect video for Famous Friends. Peter Zavadil/Tiny Terror Productions knocked it out of the park on this one! I had a blast seeing my friends on set, and that rooftop performance with Kane is some of the most fun I’ve had in a video.”

Chris Young’s next single for radio is One Of Them Nights. It’s one of 14 songs that will be released on his new LP, Famous Friends.

© 2021 Corus Radio, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

You May Also Like

Top Stories